Spain Forum
Forums Index / Spain Jobs Username Password Signup Now!
Forgotten?
Topic: caricaturist/artist looking for work
User: meanocks (view profile)30 Apr 2008 - 19:04
I have been a caricaturist in England for 15 years and i am finding hard to compete with rising cost of living and British weather. I know i can make a living at it if only i am in the right place ie weather and relaxed holiday atmosphere. I have no experience of Spain so wouldnt know the best places to head to, i am looking for friendly relaxed places with a chilled out vibe to them. Having no idea of where to go to is one of the only things holding my wife and i back as we are tired of the rat race and want a better quality and pace of life,without wanting to use th word a "hippyish "  place would suit !!

User: granaina (view profile)2 May 2008 - 10:16
while I don't want to put you off, do remember that the cost of living is rising in Spain too, and that wages here are much lower than in the UK, with no working families tax credit and pointlessly low child benefit. If the cost of living is the main reason for moving to Spain, don't do it. There are hippyish places in the UK, and all you have to do to have a better quality/pace of life is to change your job and move to a cheaper area.

if that doesn't pt you off, I'd recommend Granada - it's great and quite hippyish. as I say, not too many jobs though. alternatively tehre's Barcelona, but the cost of living there is quite high.

User: zania (view profile)7 Jun 2008 - 20:19
Hi meanocks,
I agree with granaina about the cost of living in Spain right now.  It isn't a cheap place to live any more.
Having said that, I would recommend Granada too.  I'm a bit of a 'hippy' and I love it here.
You don't say how you are going to sell your artwork.  Do you already have buyers or are you looking to find more in Spain?  Or do you plan to sell your work via the internet, which is the way I would definitely do this.